Posted by: Moira Drexler | July 29, 2011

MORE GERMAN WORDS THAT SOUND HIDEOUSLY INAPPROPRIATE IN ENGLISH.

I have always had a giggle on the way to Garmisch Parten Kirchen.

The first time I saw it, I couldn’t believe my eyes.  We are very seldom in this neck of the woods but when we passed it last time, I thought this has to be turned into a humerous post.  I find it hilarious!

First you see this sign but I only noticed the word.

This German word in English certainly conjures up visions.

But would you believe, this barn is actually just to the right of the sign!  TALK ABOUT DELICATELY PLACED!

This is the barn to the right of the signpost!

While you are sitting stunned in the car, thinking what on earth do they mean you spy the next image and know that ‘geöffnet’ means ‘open.’

You have got to have a sense of humour..........

And this one means with a panorama? Golly these Germans are brash.......

But then lastly, you put two and two together to understand that Wankbahn is just another one of those German words that are innappropriate in Englsih.

So this is a wankbahn......phew........

Does anybody have some funny examples of foreign words sounding weird in English?

Responses

  1. What is it?

  2. That’s a hilarious column, Moira! I shared it with my American friends instantly. And up to now I couldn’t think of an example the other way round, really. I will put it down as soon as I’ve found one, certainly.
    waiting for the next….
    All the best,
    Katrin

  3. Thanks for your comment Katrin. I have more to come for sure.


Leave a Reply

Categories

