Posted by: Moira Drexler | May 26, 2011

Australia Ranks 1st in International Happiness Study.

It is very early morning and I cannot sleep.  I was reading the Melbourne Age online and lo and behold I receive an e-mail from a Canadian friend who was obviously reading a Canadian newspaper online.

She informed me at Australia came 1st in a happiess study. ‘Go figure’ as my Aussie friend Sooze would say.

AUSTRALIA ranks 1st in an International Happiness Study!  (Canadians came in 2nd.)

The study was made by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. (OECD)

This is the first time a happiness study has been accomplished.  Can happiness be measured?  It seems so.

Ruut Veenhoven a happiness expert from the University of Rotterdam , in the Netherlands, wrote happiness can and should be measured regularly by governments and international organisations.  My Goodness, I think Germany needs to get this happiness expert to visit ‘Friendly Franconia’ and make a study into what goes down in this part of Germany.   Franconians here always tell me about how miserable they are.  Maybe he has some tips.

He also states that happier countries are ‘generally economically prosperous nations, allow for political autonomy, and practice gender equality.’

Well I am proud that the Aussies ranked in at number one.  Maybe it is all that Vegemite we are supposed to eat, you know how the song goes……’ We’re HAPPY little Vegemites as bright as bright can be…….’

America ranked in at seven and sadly Turkey finished last.

This one looks rather happy!

Responses

  1. Never heard of this study but somehow I’m not really surprised we came out on top. I only hear positive reports when European friends go over for holidays. Especially about the friendliness and openness of the Aussies.
    This photo is of one seriously cute happy little ‘veg’!.

  2. It is a new study and YAY, we Aussies are the happiest it seems. Happy? Yes.

  3. Australia is a good country to live in. We should be happy. I know I am.

  4. Great comment, I’m just surprised that “friendly Frankonia” ranked before Turkey ;-).

    • Fantastic comment and you can get away with it being German. I would be too scared to make that comment.

  5. That’s an interesting study and I do believe it.
    I don’t know much about Australians but ever since I moved to Canada I am a lot happier myself. People are positive, open, friendly and very respectful to each other. That makes life easier and therefor happier.
    Last time I visited Germany I was ready to go back to Canada after only 15 minutes grocery shopping.

  6. Thanks for the comments. I am so happy to hear that you are happy in Canada although we miss you here but make sure you tell me when you are coming and I will cook you a dinner!

  7. I’d say it’s all that good food and sun. LOL. Kiddin’. I LOVE oz. Used to have layovers there all the time when I was a flight attendant. Melbourne and Brizzzzzzzy, all the way!!!!

    dakotad.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

