Posted by: Moira Drexler | April 21, 2011

Erlangen Schlossgartenfest Tips Not To Upset But Ladies Take Note.

The Erlangen Schlossgartenfest is coming up soon and will be held on the 25th of June, 2011.  This is the University of Erlangen’s annual ball and it is held outside in the park behind Erlangen’s Schloss.

It is THE annual event here in Erlangen.  It is totally magical when the weather holds out….( Yes, many a time it has had to be postponed at the last minute with everyone running around from A to B asking, ‘Is it on or off?’  ‘Will it rain or not?’  ‘Can we trust the weather forecast?’..

Now I have some important tips for the ladies of Erlangen this year.  This information is not to offend and everyone has a right to their own opinion……..and this is my opinion…….

I need to bring up a very delicate subject.

There is something that I have been wanting to tell the ladies for a long, long time and I thought this the best way to air my opinion………

I love the Schlossgarten Fest, the atmosphere is  wonderful.  Everyone is happy and smiling (which is SO NICE to see), the ladies and gentlemen look fantastic and the entire ambiance is inspiring.  Everything is truly magical……

Except for the bloody armpits!!!

Now I just HAVE to mention this.  I am not a Barbie Doll in the least, I am not a feminist hater and anyone can have hairy armpits, BUT IN MY OPINION, NOT AT THE SCHLOSSGARTENFEST. Let me tell you, the sight of gorgeous young women being twirled on the dance floor with energy and vigour almost makes me regurgitate when suddenly, I see this clump of hair hanging down from their utterly gorgeous ball gowns!!  I tell you, it is killing me!

Ladies of Erlangen (and Nürnberg because I even saw worse cases at the Nürnberg Ball) please, please, please think about how you look.  You go and spend up big for that whacky do ball gown, you spend a fortune at the hairdressers on the morning of the ball, you even come to Australiss and pick out some sensational jewellery or even a silk wrap, BUT LONG HAIRY ARMPITS JUST HAVE TO GO!!!

Here are Moira’s tips:

If you are spending up for your outfit, do yourself a favour and book a beauty salon here in Erlangen.  There are plenty of them and make sure you get the underarm (‘axel’ in German) waxed  a couple of days before the event. (You seriously do not want to turn up with a rash under the arm either!)

Ok, Ok, you haven’t got the extra dosh to go to the salon where you will almost see more men sitting waiting for a waxing appointment these days anyway…….then here are some more tips……..

Go to Müller and treat yourself to a pack of disposable razors and get rid of that undergrowth that way.  Take your girlfriends and buy a ten pack, have a bottle of Sekt and then get shaving in preparation for the big night.

If either of these suggestions don’t cut it for you, and you cannot imagine to part with underarm hair , then DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT wear a dress that shows the hairy bits.

Some of you are going to argue that your husband, boyfriend, lover, flirt, one night stand finds it sexy……well do you really believe this?  Not when the hair is so long, I mean, do you really think it is a turn on to have someones nose up your hairy armpit??  Forget it.  Get sexy and smart for the ball and get rid of that hair.  Erlangen in as international place with in fact 120 different nationalities.  Don’t embarrass yourselves ladies, you wouldn’t see long hairy armpits on the red carpet in Cannes or at the Oscars.  The Australian volleyball team would bury itself 10 metres under if anyone on the side let the team down……I am telling you, it is a touchy subject BUT SOMEONE HAS TO COME OUT AND SAY IT.

There, I feel better.  I have had my say.  I welcome any comments…………..

Responses

  1. Hair free armpits are definitely the go in a sleeveless dress.

  2. I love this post, Moira. 🙂

  3. Thanks for your comment. I know it is a touchy subject but I had to come out and say it……..Let us know when you are coming out next.

  4. I just love your blog. I love the recipes, ideas, tips and spicy opinions like the ones about hairy armpits. I love your shop. I love the whole kit and caboodle. Keep it up Moira. I’m sure I can speak for a lot of people when I say “we love you too.”

    Willetta

    • I am overwhelmed by your comment Willetta. Thank you so very much. I wish I could sing like you. Your voice is sensational and I hope you sell out all your concerts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

