Posted by: Moira Drexler | March 1, 2011

Guttenberg Goodbye.

It is very difficult for me to understand politics here in Germany when I don’t speak the language well enough.  I do my best but some people I guess would argue it is even hard to understand the goings on in politics even in your mother tongue.  What I want to say is this.

Guttenberg, the Defense Minister of Germany stepped down today.  He was caught out at plagiarising his doctoral thesis. About 300 pages of his work were not in fact his work.  He has stepped down and rightly so.

I think it is a real shame because to me, it seemed he was really well liked and the other point is that he seemed to do his job really well.  BUT, there was no other option for him to step down.  It is a shame.

And what if he was allowed to do the Ph D again?  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Categories

