Posted by: Moira Drexler | December 6, 2010

Erlangen Weihnachten Fotos – Erlangen Christmas photos

I had a walk around the Erlangen Market Place (Erlangen Marktplatz) and the Hugonottenplatz this morning while it was snowing.  This family has been selling Christmas trees in Erlangen for a long time.

Pretty Christmas trees of all sizes for sale in Erlangen

And here is some real Mistletoe.  I love it because I never, ever saw Mistletoe until I lived in Europe.  No kissing today though, just a quick photo.

Mistletoe at the Erlangen Christmas market for sale.And at Australiss, I have fresh Eucalyptus which I tell people in Erlangen is our Australian form of mistletoe.

Fresh eucalyptus at Australiss

When wrapping the Christmas gifts, I cut off a piece and tape some fresh Eucalyptus to the gift.  I tell the people not to throw it away.  ‘Keep it’ I tell everyone.  Put it on the heating and your room will smell like Eucalyptus which is perfect during the cough and cold season.  It dries out and lasts and lasts.

When I arrived at Hugonottenplatz, I found something I didn’t expect to find.  Can you spot it in the photo?

Look to the left of the Chistmas tree and what do you see?

Here is a close up of what I discovered today in Erlangen and I think it is great!

A large Channukah Lamp also erected on Hugonottenplatz.

And here is the Erlangen Library in the newly renovated building which is an absolute delight.  Here it is under snow……..

Beautifully renovated, the new site of the Erlangen Library.

And look at the park today……..my goodness, the Winter has drained it of any colour……..anyone for a walk??

WARNING: This photo is in colour!!!!! Winter in Erlangen...well this morning anyway.

And lastly, Christmas in Erlangen which is near Nürnberg would not be complete without Lebkuchen.  I make my own from a wonderful old recipe but aren’t these little Lebkuchen houses cute?  I am waiting for Hansel and Gretel to pop out from behind.

Lebkuchen house in ErlangenI must say that I really enjoy Christmas time here in Germany.  I like the cold and the snow, the smell of the Glühwein or cinnamon wafting through the air.  Somehow Christmas in Australia doesn’t feel the same .  One thing for sure is the Christmas carols.  I sometimes shed a couple of tears:  one for the homesickness and one for the happiness too, that living in Erlangen brings.

Responses

  1. I thought you meant Little Red Riding Hood striding along. I love the lamp! The snow may be a inconvenient, but it is so beautiful. All we have here is rain, rain, and more rain. I love Erlangen.

    • Snow?? We have been shovelling for days and I got caught in the blizzard on Wednesday. The children and I had to abandon the car at the bottom of the Marloffstein hill and walk home in blizzard conditions. Too dangerous for us to walk up the main street so from the bottom we trudged up with schoolbags and other people who also abandoned their cars when they say cars sliding backwards down the hill! When we arrived home, the three of us looked as if we had just completed an arctic expedition. Yes, sometimes that pretty snow is very inconvenient!

  2. Thank you for the wonderful “Christmas in Erlangen” photographs. I lived in Erlangen from 1972 – 1978 and have many wonderful Christmas memories from the time that I lived there.

    Have a very Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year!

    All the best!

    • Hello Roy,
      Thank you very much. I cound’t help but snap off a few photographs. Erlangen is a lovely place to live and I have enjoyed my ten years so far. I also wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
      Moira


Leave a Reply

Categories

