Posted by: Moira Drexler | January 28, 2011

GEWÜRZKUCHEN – AM BESTEN REZEPT. THE BEST CHOCOLATE SPICE CAKE EVER THIS TIME MADE IN THE SHAPE OF AUSTRALIA.

It’s moments like these you need Minties.  This is my chocolate cake made with VANILLA PASTE  from Australiss, Erlangen , Germany.  The recipe is an old family one handed down and everyone loves it!

This time though I made if for Australia Day although we live in Erlangen , Germany.  It actually cracked in half for the first time but do you think that bothered us Aussies?   Our friend here doesn’t look too unhappy.

Happy because it is Australia Day.

I believe he taught a few of the locals the Mintie Wrapper competion.

The trick to this cake’s yummy taste is the fresh Vanilla Paste sold from my shop, Australiss.  It is so tasty compared to the little packets of vanilla sugar they sell in Germany.

CHOCOLATE SPICE CAKE  –  GEWURZKUCHEN.

250 softened butter

500 grams sugar

6 – 8 eggs  (If they are a medium size I go for 7!

2 teaspoons of cinnamon

Few drop of Almond Essence if you like but I don’t put this is because the children don’t like it!)

2 pinches of ground cloves ( I also don’t add because the kids don’t care for it)

1 knife edge of nutmeg also optional

1 teaspoon VANILLA PASTE ( You can purchase this from Australiss , Erlangen.)

2 Pinches of Salt

Cream together the sugar and the eggs.  Add the rest of the ingredients listed above.

THEN ADD………

700 grams plain flour

30 grams (Two packets that are sold in Germany) of baking powder

100 grams Cocoa

Milk by feel, Don’t make the mixture too runny otherwise it will be crumbly to eat.

Milk all together to form a thick cake mix and bake for 60 minutes at 180 degrees.

I always make the cake in this quantity which makes two cakes.  For the photo above, the Australia tin is large so the entire cake mixture was put into the tin.  So many friends have asked for this recipe so I now put it on the blog so I don’t have to write it out each time.

I owe this wonderful recipe to my husbands family in Fulda.  It really is lovely as it is not too sweet.

It is lovely plain just how it comes out of the oven.

It is nice with a sprinkle of icing sugar.

For kids special cakes to take to school etc, then cover with an icing sugar coating.

Easy , peasy….

OH AND IF YOUR CAKE CRACKS LIKE MINE DID THIS TIME, TAKE A MINTIE AND THINK, ‘IT’S MOMENTS LIKE THESE………..

It really is moments like these.......................


Responses

  1. I would eat it – cracked or not.


Leave a comment

Categories